Day 3 – One of my favourite meals

For those who are wondering if I only have one meal a day – NO. Yesterday for my second meal I had 2 bread buns with lots of seeds (Reduced section in ASDA – £0.05 for both of them) and chicken flavoured instant noodles. Not the best food in the world, but suits me in work.
For breakfast I just have hot cup of water, starts my metabolism working.

Before I will explain what did I have for food today, I have to tell tiny history.

Originally I come form Latvia and I have lived in UK for 3 years already. As the main reason why I am still here is my boyfriend who is British 🙂 So that is why my dishes and ways of cooking may seem different.

Today I was cooking potato pancakes. (2.5 kg of potatoes bought in local market for £1.00 not as I was planning, but better than paying the Tesco price).

First just peel potatoes and wash them.

day3_peeled_potatoes

Grate them on the medium grater.

day3_great_pot

Add some salt. If grated potatoes are turning grey and unappealing add some milk, but it will not change taste at all. You can add and egg for extra stickiness, but not necessary.

SAM_0076

Prepare the pan – medium heat and oil. Take small handful of grated potatoes in your hand.

SAM_0077

Squeeze all the juice out.

SAM_0078

The less juice will prevent spitting? – only term my bf could come up with.

SAM_0079

Put it in the pan and cook it until edges are golden brown then turn them upside down.

SAM_0082SAM_0083

And then just munch them in 🙂

SAM_0084

Total cost of today’s meal – potatoes £0.25 + tomato £0.10 = £0.35

Total money spent – £3.55

2 thoughts on “Day 3 – One of my favourite meals

    • Both – buying fresh veg and fruit is cheaper in market, rest of the stuff in the supermarket, if you buy the cheap end food.

Leave a comment